Purush, Gayatri and Gunas

Gayatri is the Adi Shakti, the life force, the eternal creative energy from which the entire Universe came into being. I created this short illustration (picture below) to shed some light on the deep esoteric significance of Ma Gayatri.

Science of GAYATRI

In one form, Gayatri is depicted with 5 heads, 4 of them representing the 4 Vedas and the fifth head represents the Brahm Purush Himself. She has 10 hands, holding all the 10 symbols of Lord Vishnu. From Gayatri sprung all the Goddesses: Saraswati, Lakshmi, Kali etc. From Gayatri originated the 3 Gunas: Sattwa, Rajas and Tamas. Sattva is represented by Saraswati, Rajas by Lakshmi and Tamas by Kali. Rajas comes into being when Sattva and Tamas unite or come together.

More on the significance and meaning of the 24 letters of Gayatri mantra in the next post.

Om Bhur Bhuvaha Swaha Om

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s